

Government of India Ministry of Earth Sciences India Meteorological Department



Press Release. Date: 30<sup>th</sup> May, 2024 Time of Issue: 1245 hours IST

## Sub: Southwest Monsoon has set in over Kerala and advanced into most parts of northeast India, today the 30<sup>th</sup> May, 2024.

- Southwest Monsoon has set in over Kerala and Mahe and advanced into most parts of northeast India including entire Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Arunachal Pradesh and most parts of Tripura, Meghalaya and Assam, today the 30<sup>th</sup> May, 2024.
- Normally southwest monsoon set in over Kerala on 1<sup>st</sup> June and it advances over most part of northeast India by 5<sup>th</sup> June. Thus, southwest monsoon has set in over Kerala 2 days before the normal date and over northeast India, 6 days before the normal date.
- It has also advanced into most parts of Lakshadweep area, most part of south Arabian sea and some parts of central Arabian sea and some parts of south Tamil Nadu.
- The Northern Limit of Monsoon passes through 13°N/60°E, 12°N/65°E, 11°N/70°E, Amini, Kannur, Coimbatore, Kanyakumari, 8.5°N/80°E, 13°N/84°E, 16°N/87°E, 20°N/91°E, Agartala, Dhubri, 27°N/89.5°E.

**Features associated with onset of monsoon over Kerala:** During past 2 days, cloud has increased over Southeast Arabian Sea with Outgoing Long wave Radiation (OLR) being <200w/m<sup>2</sup>. The depth of westerlies over Southeast Arabian Sea extends upto 4.5 km above mean sea level. The strength of Westerlies in the lower levels is about 25-30 knots. There has been widespread rainfall with isolated heavy to very heavy rainfall over Kerala during past 2 days (**refer Annex 1 for observed rainfall)**. Considering all the above satisfied conditions, Southwest Monsoon has set in over Kerala today, the 30<sup>th</sup> May 2024.

## ANNEXURE I Realised 24 hours cumulative rainfall(in cm) ending at 0830 hrs IST of the date:

## 29<sup>th</sup> May 2024:

- **KERALA & MAHE:** Piravam (dist Ernakulam) 20, Poonjar (dist Kottayam) 18, Kayamkulam(dist Alapuzha) 15, Kayamkulam (dist Alapuzha) 14, Vaikom (dist Kottayam) 13, Nooranad(dist Alapuzha) 12, Enamakkal (dist Thrissur) 11, Vaikkom (dist Kottayam) 11, Palluruthy (dist Ernakulam) 11, Mavelikara (dist Alapuzha) 11, Vadavathur (dist Kottayam) 11,Thycauttussery (dist Alapuzha) 10, Haripad (dist Alapuzha) 10, Kottayam (dist Kottayam)10, Karumadi (dist Alapuzha) 9, Cherthala (dist Alapuzha) 9, Kochi (dist Ernakulam) 9, Athirappalli (dist Thrissur) 8, Kanjirappally (dist Kottayam) 8, Thennala (dist Malappuram) 8, Mattanchery (dist Ernakulam) 7, Kunnamkulam (dist Thrissur) 7, Kunnamkulam (dist Thrissur) 7, Kunnamkulam (dist Ernakulam) 7, Peermade (dist Idukki)7, Ernakulam South (dist Ernakulam) 7,
- LAKSHADWEEP: Minicoy (dist Lakshadweep) 3

## 30th May 2024:

\* KERALA & MAHE: Mancompu (dist Alapuzha) 19, Karumadi Aws (dist Alapuzha), KALAMASSERYAWS (ERNAKULAM) 15, Kodungallur (dist Thrissur) 14, Mavelikara (dist Alapuzha) 10, Choondy Aws (dist Ernakulam) 10, Ulanad Aws (dist Pathanamthitta) Cheruvanchery Aws(dist Cannur) Thiruvananthapuram 10, 9, (dist Thiruvananthapuram) 9, Nooranad Aws (distAlapuzha) 9, Ponnani (dist Malappuram) 9, Piravam (dist Ernakulam) 8, Thiruvalla Aws (distPathanamthitta) 8, Irinjalakuda (dist Thrissur) 8, Airport Chakka Arg (dist Thiruvananthapuram)7, Cherthala (dist Alapuzha) 7, Enamakkal (dist Thrissur) 7, Trivandrum Aero (distThiruvananthapuram) 7, Vaikom (dist Kottayam) 7, Kayamkulam (dist Alapuzha) 7, Haripad(dist Alapuzha) 6, Thycauttussery Aws (dist Alapuzha) 6, Chalakudi (dist Thrissur) 6, PinarayiAws (dist Cannur) 5, Mahe (dist Mahe) 5, Tellichery (dist Cannur) 5, Quilandi (dist Kozhikode)5, Varkala (dist Thiruvananthapuram) 5, Kumarakam (dist Kottayam) 4, Panathur Aws (distKasargod) 4, Mattanchery Aws (dist Ernakulam) 4, Nevyattinkara (dist Thiruvananthapuram) 4, Perumkadavila Arg (dist Thiruvananthapuram) 4, Palluruthy Arg (dist Ernakulam) 4, MunakkalAws (dist Thrissur) 4, Vellarikkundu Aws (dist Kasargod) 3, Enadimangalam Aws (distPathanamthitta) 3, Vilangankunnu Arg (dist Thrissur) 3, Vyanthala Arg (dist Thrissur) 3, KochiI.a.f. (dist Ernakulam) 3, Alwaye Pwd (dist Ernakulam) 3, Vakkad Aws (dist Malappuram) 3, Perumpavur (dist Ernakulam) 3, Kannur Icar Aws (dist Cannur) 3, Konni (dist Pathanamthitta)3, Vadavathur Aws (dist Kottayam) 3, Konni Arg (dist Pathanamthitta) 2, Kannur (dist Cannur)2, Venkurinji Aws (dist Pathanamthitta) 2, Muliyar Aws (dist Kasargod) 2, Neryamangalam Arg(dist Ernakulam) 2, Kanjirapuzha Arg (dist Palakkad) 2, Kanjirappally (dist Kottayam)

2, Thattathumala Aws (dist Thiruvananthapuram) 2, Laha Aws (dist Pathanamthitta) 2, PanniyoorArg (dist Cannur) 2, Thodupuzha (dist Idukki) 2, Kunnamkulam (dist Thrissur) 2, Kottayam (distKottayam) 2, Vadakara (dist Kozhikode) 2, Kollam Rly (dist Kollam) 2, Taliparamba (distCannur) 1, Thodupuzha Arg (dist Idukki) 1, Kannur Airport Aws (dist Cannur) 1, Vadakara Aws(dist Kozhikode) 1, Punalur (dist Kollam) 1, Ams Kannur (dist Cannur) 1, Peermade To (distIdukki) 1, Udumbannoor Aws (dist Idukki) 1, Aralam Aws (dist Cannur) 1, Peringome Aws (distCannur) 1, Poonjar Aws (dist Kottayam) 1

LAKSHADWEEP: Minicoy (dist Lakshadweep) 8, Amini (dist Lakshadweep) 3, Agathi (distLakshadweep) 2